2022 Honors & Awards Recipients



54th Mary McMillan Lecture Award

Edelle Field-Fote, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Catherine Worthingham Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association

Laurence N. Benz, PT, DPT, MBA, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

John A. Buford, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Todd S. Ellenbecker, PT, DPT, MS, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

Pauline W. Flesch, PT, MPS, FAPTA

Jennifer A. Furze, PT, DPT, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Pediatric Physical Therapy

Joseph J. Godges, PT, DPT, MA, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

Michael Harris-Love, PT, MPT, DSc, FAPTA

Thomas George Hornby, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Venita Lovelace-Chandler, PT, MA, PhD, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Pediatric Physical Therapy

Patricia J. Ohtake, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Mary C. Sinnott, PT, DPT, MEd, FAPTA

Deydre S. Teyhen, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA

LaDora V. Thompson, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Philip Paul Tygiel, PT, FAPTA

Lisa D. VanHoose, PT, MSPT, PhD, MPH, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Oncologic Physical Therapy

28th John H. P. Maley Lecture Award

Stacey Dusing, PT, PhD, FAPTA Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Pediatric Physical Therapy

Lucy Blair Service Award



Angela Campbell, PT, DPT

Colleen Chancler, PT, PhD, MHS

Diane E. Clark, PT, DSc, MBA

Holly Clynch, PT, DPT, MA

Board-Certified Specialist in Geriatric Physical Therapy (emeritus)

Ann W. Fick, PT, DPT, MS

Board-Certified Specialist in Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy

Geraldine Michelle Grzybek, PT

Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Geriatric Physical Therapy

Peggy J. Lynam, PT, DPT

Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic Physical Therapy

Terry Nordstrom, PT, EdD, FAPTA

Carolyn Oddo, PT, MS

Susan B. Perry, PT, DPT

Julie A. Peterson, PT, DPT

Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Women's Health Physical Therapy

Richard Rausch, PT, DPT, MBA

Yasser Salem, PT, PhD, MS

Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic Physical Therapy

Susan Wainwright, PT, PhD

Patricia Wolfe, PT, MS

Henry O. and Florence P. Kendall Practice Award

Holly Lookabaugh-Deur, PT, DSc

Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Geriatric Physical Therapy

Marilyn Moffat Leadership Award

David Morris, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Outstanding Physical Therapist Assistant Award

Lisa Stejskal, PTA, MAEd

Societal Impact Award

Reed Handlery, PT, DPT, PhD



Jennifer Tucker, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Pediatric Physical Therapy

Humanitarian Award

Anne D. Kloos, PT, PhD Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic Physical Therapy

Eugene Michels New Investigator Award

Stephanie Di Stasi, PT, PhD

Bahar Shahidi, PT, DPT, PhD

Joshua J. Stefanik, PT, MSPT, PhD

Marian Williams Award for Research in Physical Therapy

Julius (Jules) P.A. Dewald, PT, PhD

Steven A. George, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Jack Walker Award

Jason R. Falvey, PT, DPT, PhD Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Geriatric Physical Therapy

Chattanooga Research Award

Regina T. Harbourne, PT, PhD, FAPTA, board-certified clinical specialist in pediatric physical therapy, for article "START-Play Physical Therapy Intervention Impacts Motor and Cognitive Outcomes in Infants With Neuromotor Disorders: A Multisite Randomized Clinical Trial," published in PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal, Vol. 101, No. 2.

Dorothy Briggs Memorial Scientific Inquiry Award

Rachel Prusynski, PT, DPT, board-certified clinical specialist in neurologic physical therapy, for article "Rehabilitation Intensity and Patient Outcomes in Skilled Nursing Facilities in the United States: A Systematic Review," published in PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal, Vol. 101, No. 3.

Helen J. Hislop Award for Outstanding Contributions to Professional Literature

Beth E. Fisher, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Jules M. Rothstein Golden Pen Award for Scientific Writing

Carolee J. Winstein, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Dorothy E. Baethke-Eleanor J. Carlin Award for Excellence in Academic Teaching

Marsha E. Rutland, PT, BSPT, MEd, ScD Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

Signe Brunnström Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching

Kaitlyn Cornelius, PT, DPT



Margaret L. Moore Award for Outstanding New Academic Faculty Member

Ryan Zarzycki, PT, DPT, PhD

F. A. Davis Award for Outstanding Physical Therapist Assistant Educator

Christina D. Howard, PT, MPT, EdD

Minority Initiatives Award

Washington University Program in Physical Therapy

Outstanding Physical Therapist Resident Award

Bailey L. Lanser, PT, DPT, LAT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Sports Physical Therapy

Mackenzie Wilson, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Neurologic Physical Therapy

Mary McMillan Scholarship Awards

Alysse Dambrot, SPTA, Community College of Allegheny County

Hannah Alise Karczewski, SPT, University of Michigan

Sydney Lazzell, SPT, Midwestern University

Sydney Neumann, SPT, Pacific University

Bana Odeh, SPT, Wayne State University

Robert Ray, SPTA, Somerset Community College

Minority Faculty Development Scholarship Award

Nia I. Toomer-Mensah, PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Pediatric Physical Therapy, Long Island University

Archana Vatwani, PT, DPT, MBA

Minority Scholarship Awards

Olutayo Akinboboye, SPT, Ithaca College

Kelly E. Carroll, SPT, Northern Arizona University

DeJ'a Crippen, SPT, University of the Sciences

Michelle Dennis, SPT, Mercer University

Elizabeth E.A. Dixon, SPT, Alabama State University

Jennifer Socarras Garcia, SPT, University of Miami



Noah Ichite, SPT, Youngstown State University

Cristina Fuentes Ortiz, SPT, Columbia University

Public Service Award

Rep. Bobby L. Rush, D-III.

Federal Government Affairs Leadership Award

Theresa Marko, PT, DPT, MS Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

State Legislative Leadership Award

Gregory R. Doucette, PT, MPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

Brian J. Mason, PT, DPT

Chris Murphy, PT

Recognition of Legislative Commitment Awards

Thomas J. Bohanon, Jr., PT, DPT Board-Certified Clinical Specialist in Orthopaedic Physical Therapy

Brett Roberts, PT, DPT

Honorary Membership

Jesse Dean

Kent Culley

Marc Goldstein